Flower Power Pillows

I LOVE making gifts for people! Always have, always will. It’s always been a matter of if people want a homemade gift though, so I usually resort to buying them. Needless to say, I was delighted when I asked my friend what she wanted for her birthday, and she asked me to make her a nice throw pillow. After discussing a few pattern ideas and looking at some inspiration pictures, we settled on a really beautiful flower concept.

Wanting to make sure the gift still had an element of surprise, I chose the fabric and color scheme by myself. I chose a heavier weight cotton poplin and started by doing an hombre in orange RIT dye. (Please forgive the poor picture quality, as all of these were taken in the evening with my iphone.)

IMG_1031After cutting out pieces for the front and back of the pillow, I made a small template of what I wanted the petals to look like in varying sizes. These I then used to cut out my petal pieces, with the big pattern pieces in the darker sections, and the smallest in the lightest fabric sections.

IMG_1033I cut out a plethora of petals, stitched two pieces of each together, and left the flat end open to turn. Next I used my serger with a safety stitch, but i’m sure that a standard sewing machine would work just fine! After stitching, turning and pressing each petal, I serged the openings closed, and worked on my layout.

IMG_1034

IMG_1038After finalizing my layout, I stitched each petal down, and attached the front of the pillow sham to the back. I had to hand stitch the center rossette.

Voila!!

IMG_1050

I also made a small accompanying pillow.

IMG_1053

I think they turned out pretty cute for my first go around with throw pillows. Now I just need to make a few for my own apartment.

signature

Leave a Reply

