Will Run for Chocolate

2013 is shaping up to be the year of races for me. I’ve always been a fan of races, but usually only do about two per year. Somehow I have already committed myself to six or seven this year…. yikes! Ranging from 5k’s to half marathons, needless to say, I will be doing a lot of running this year. Enough about my upcoming year though, as this past sunday was the first race of 2013!

Now it takes a lot to get me off the treadmill and running outside in March in Seattle, but my dear friend Lacey found the perfect race for us! This race happens all over the U.S. but this was their inaugural race in Seattle, and they hosted 10,000 runners. The Hot Chocolate Run 5K/15K offers fun, fondue, and hot cocoa, which is exactly what we needed after our chilly 9.3 mile run.

(Find the race info here http://www.hotchocolate15k.com/seattle/ )

IMG_1066 IMG_1074

We really lucked out with a beautiful day for a run. It was chilly at 7:40 am, but I would much rather run in the cold sunshine, than a warm rain.

IMG_1067

IMG_1079

After jammin’ out to some sweet tunes for my run (really a jog), my feet were tired. I cheered Lacey through her finish line (it was her first 15k ever. YAY Lacey!)…. Then we got to the chocolate! Now it wasn’t great hot chocolate or fondue, but unless I’m searching for something truly decadent, I’m really not too picky. The hot chocolate was HOT, and the fondue was dark, so it was really just what I wanted. With happier bellies we needed a celebratory picture, despite the fact that we were sweaty make-up free messes.

IMG_1070 IMG_1072

All in all it was a fun race and just what I needed to get me out of my winter hibernation. I hope they come back next year, and I can shave a few minutes (or more likely seconds) off my time! Up next, Bloomsday!!! My favorite race of the year! Any fun races you would recommend?

signature

Leave a Reply

