Stop competing with others…. and Start competing with yourself

Or in other words 2013 race number 2…. BLOOMSDAY. Otherwise known as my favorite race of the year!

Before I get to the Bloomsday bit though, I thought I’d share a bit about one of my other loves, Roller Coasters! Now I don’t get to ride these very often, what can I say, Washington doesn’t have any good ones. So when some really fun ones are a mere 40 minute drive away, you better bet that I will be there! In what I’m hoping becomes a yearly pre-bloomsday tradition, my dear friends L and K and I trekked on over to Idaho for some fun at Silverwood.

IMG_1202 IMG_1203

Now Silverwood isn’t home to any of the world’s tallest, fastest, scariest rides, but it does have some pretty fantastic wooden roller coasters, as well as some other fun rides! We spun, we dropped, we bumpered, and all in all, had a lovely day! Who couldn’t though in that glorious weather!

IMG_1205

IMG_1207

Just don’t forget, DON’T STAND UP ON THE ROLLER COASTERS!

IMG_1208

By the end of the day, we were pretty beat. At my insistance though, we had one last ride to ride. My childlike heart simply cannot pass up a ride on a carousel.

IMG_1209

While L and K rode like regular people, i’m clearly a bit more manic in my enjoyment! Are you scared?

20130504_163527

Ok, fine…. I’ll calm down and smile like a normal person.

20130504_163515

Now, onto the racing. I love Bloomsday (I may have said that once or twice already)! Somewhere around 50,000 people race every year, and you simply can’t beat the atmosphere. Observers everywhere, new bands performing around every twist and turn, and lots of like minded racers who just want to get out and participate in a fun activity.

Now I am nowhere near the fastest, or the slowest, and winning a race will never be a part of my future, but here are the reasons I love to run.

1- It is the best thing for me to do when I’m stressed out and need to mentally work through a problem.

2- It is also is the best way for me to completely clear my head of everything but a really good jam (Jonas Brothers or NSYNC anyone).

3- It gets me outdoors (what can I say, all my other hobbies tend to be confined to the indoors).

4- I am my own worst competition, and running pits me against myself and nobody else.

That all said, last sunday was not my best race. Don’t get me wrong, I had a gem of a time, but it was a bit too hot and I was a bit undertrained. I have taken a few weeks off from running to do other activities, but this race was definitely the kick I needed to get my butt in my runnings shoes on a more regular basis. Still a fun day though!!

IMG_1211

As you can see, it’s a wee bit crowded at the race start.

IMG_1218

L, K, and I managed to find each other though….. clearly excited for the 7 plus miles ahead of us.

IMG_1214

Don’t worry if you didn’t wear enough, one of Spokane’s special jacket trees will provide you with something cozy. Just kidding, runners can deposit clothes on the street/trees at the start. The city then collects this and donates it to the Union Gospel Mission.

IMG_1223

I only snapped a few photos during the run, and most of them were a wee bit blurry. But look how beautiful that day is! A little hot yes, but certainly better than rain.

All right, time to lace up my running shoes and head out the door.

signature

Leave a Reply

