I Heart Seattle Art

Ok, so they weren’t Seattle artists specifically, but I do Love the Seattle Art Museum, especially their current exhibit Future Beauty, 30 Years of Japanese Fashion. Whoever curated this particular show created what I thought was one of the most cohesive and beautiful exhibits I have ever seen displayed at the SAM. Now I didn’t find out until halfway through the exhibit that it was a photo free zone, so Sshhhhhh, these photos will be our little secret 😉

IMG_1622 IMG_1623

Japanese designers in general push boundaries of traditional garment shapes, and I love it. While they may not be very practical, they truly are works of art.

IMG_1626

The below garment was my favorite piece in the show. It was a beautiful play on traditional dress/Kimono silhouette, and the use of the bold and bright textile was brilliant!

IMG_1628 IMG_1630

So if you get a chance, go take a wander through these halls before September 8th. I’m already planning on a second visit before they are packed up and sent off for some other cities enjoyment.

IMG_1634

signature

2 thoughts on “I Heart Seattle Art

Leave a Reply

