Semi Sweet Pistachio Torte

For years I thought I couldn’t bake. What it really comes down to, is that I cannot bake chocolate chip cookies. Even though I followed the recipes to the letter, batches and batches of cookies have been turned into puddles, bricks, and charred black circles. I can even destroy tollhouse ready made cookie dough… I’m not kidding, ask my mother. Once I realized that I seem to be the bermuda triangle for cookies, I started testing out some different types of dessert making, and joyously discovered that I can indeed make other tasty treats.

Now that my baking mystery has been solved, I have loved making the desserts for my family’s holiday gatherings. This year for Christmas I tried out Martha Stewart’s (love her) recipe for Chocolate Pistachio Torte and it turned out amazing, so I thought I’d share a few things I learned along the way.

Original recipe link here:

http://www.marthastewart.com/313305/chocolate-pistachio-torte?czone=entertaining/holiday-entertaining/holidaycenter-foods&gallery=923519&slide=313305&center=276958

IMG_2228

Many of Martha Stewarts recipes call for a double boiler, which I don’t own. Not realizing that I needed one until after I bought the ingredients and got started, I came up with the above contraption and it worked great! I filled the pot about 1/3 of the way up, placed my cooling rack on top and then placed a heat safe pyrex with my butter and chocolate on top of that. It took about the same amount of time as a double boiler would have, and still gave it the right consistency.

IMG_2230

A bit of my cake stuck to the pan while baking, as I don’t think I floured well enough. Fortunately the chocolate ganache filled in the whole 😉

DSCN0043

Ta Da!

DSCN0044

I think this is the closest one of my desserts has ever come to resembling the original picture. I was quite pleased!

DSCN0045

And a little ravenous.

DSCN0047

Don’t worry, If I can do it, you can do it!

signature

Leave a Reply

