Soft Blue Beret

This winter, I have been in dire need of a new cozy hat. Not wanting to buy one in store (all the ones I liked were way to expensive), I started scouring the internet for patterns that looked appealing. I came across this little beauty, and decided to give it a whirl.

It turned out pretty well with just a few minor adjustments. You never know with internet finds, as I have had some real doozy’s of end results on projects. This one however wasn’t a catastrophe, so I thought I’d share it with you!

I used the Lion Brand Alpine Wool yarn, and though a little scratchy, the color and ease of use make up for it.

DSCN0132

Gauge: 8dc*10rows = 10*10cm
I used 8.00 mm hook
At the end of each round join with a sl st in 3rd ch of beg. ch 3.

Beret:
Ch 3, join with sl st to form ring.

Rnd 1: ch 3 (count as dc), make 11 dc in ring.(12 dc)

Rnd 2: ch 3, 2 dc in each dc.(24 dc)

Rnd 3: ch 3, 2 dc in the same joining dc,*ch 2, skip 1 ch, 3 dc in next dc*, repeat from * around, ending with ch 2 and joining to first dc group.(12 dc group)

Rnd 4: ch 3, turn, 2 dc in next ch 2 space,*ch 2, 3 dc in next ch 2 space*, repeat from * around, ending with ch 2 and joining to first dc group.(12 dc group)

Rnd 5: repeat Rnd 4.

Rnd 6: ch 3, 1 dc in each next 2 dc,*1 dc in next ch 2 space, 3 dc in next 3 dc*, repeat from * around ending with 1 dc in last ch 2 space and joining to first dc.

Rnd 7: ch 3, 3 dc, dc2tog.,*4 dc, dc2tog.*, repeat from * around, joining to beg. ch3.

Rnd 8: ch 3, 2 dc, dc2tog.,*3 dc, dc2tog.*, repeat from * around, joining to beg. ch3

Rnd 9: sc around, join with sl st to last sc

Rnd 10: sc around, join with a sl st to last sc

Rnd 11: sl st around edge to last sc

Fasten off and weave in all ends

Here she is, all fancy on Millie!

DSCN0088 DSCN0089 DSCN0090

And on me, all ready to brave the not so cold Seattle.DSCN0092

In retrospect, I think I would make it a little bigger. I have thick thick hair and a large head, and the hat didn’t quite have the slouchy affect I wanted in the back. Alas, I still like it, and I’ll still wear it.

DSCN0093

Can you tell I like black?

DSCN0100

I took my hat out for a jaunt around Point Defiance Zoo, for the last night of Zoo Lights. It’s a fun little walk around, and perfect for a chilly winter night with a cup of coco in hand.

DSCN0116

DSCN0127

I hope your all staying warm in this chilly start to the new year!

signature

Leave a Reply

