Silks… and Not the Kind I Sew With

I had a bit of an odd elementary school P.E. experience. Instead of your typical dodgeball games, I was busy jump roping, riding unicycles, juggling, and walking on stilts (all skills that have come in oddly useful in my adult life). Throughout this I developed an odd fascination with the circus arts. Now I’ve taken a couple of trapeze classes over the past few years (totally fun and I highly recommend them), but I have always wanted to give silks a try. Not wanting to make a fool of myself alone, I coerced my friend M into joining me. What can I say, we’re hooked, i’m already signed up for more classes.

Ready….

IMG_2297

Set…

IMG_2298

Ta Da! I stood on some fabric. Ok, not that exciting, but I promise my arms have never been that sore in my life. It hurt to pull up my pants and tie my shoes for a week.

IMG_2300

M demonstrating the most complicated skill we practiced…. ouch!

IMG_2305

And me. Clearly I was in pain too.

IMG_2306

Notice how my face is all red… That’s because I was hanging upside down trying to get into this move for a solid minute prior to this. 😉

IMG_2308

I’m convinced that this kind of exercise is the only way to get my upper body in shape and I am itching to get to my next class this week!

Happy monday, i’m off to sunny California for work for a few days! Hope your week has started well!

signature

One thought on “Silks… and Not the Kind I Sew With

  1. Pingback: 27 for 27… a Check In | Shenanigans

Leave a Reply

