Baby Afghan…. again

I made another baby afghan. Shocking I know. This one was started about 4 months ago, and I finished it just in time! My boss and her husband have been going through the adoption process, and they finally got their sweet little miss about a week ago. I finished the afghan only a few days before they found out. Good timing indeed!

Being as we are both textile designers, I selected this particular crochet pattern because it resembles a woven basketweave exactly. I didn’t use an exact pattern, as I did with other baby blankets, but used a youtube video instead. Find the video here. I used this video to understand the basics of the stitch, and then came up with the dimensions I wanted the blanket to meet. Once I finished the body of the blanket, I completed it by doing a bobble stitch around the edge.

I was pretty pleased with the end result, considering it was my first time not using a pattern. Take a gander!

 DSCN0600 DSCN0601 DSCN0603 DSCN0604 DSCN0605

I used the Bernat softie yarn, in a light variegated blue. Yes, I used blue for a girl. I cannot stand gender stereotyping colors, so I just picked a nice snuggly yarn. I hope she likes it. Happy Tuesday!

signature

9 thoughts on “Baby Afghan…. again

Leave a Reply

