White Walls

I adore a good museum. The stark blank walls and empty floors just waiting for art to fill them, the hushed conversations of observers trying to pay their respect to masters long gone, the more chaotic confused discussions surrounding the modern and contemporary works, the strokes of pencil on paper of art students trying to capture the genius, and I find such peace in these surroundings.

On my recent hop over to NYC, I popped into the big three, The Guggenheim, The MoMA, and the MET. I liked them all for varying reasons, and i’m sure i’ll be back to visit them again someday.

The Guggenheim. Hands down some of the coolest architecture, both inside and out.

Guggenheim

Guggenheim

Sorry, no photos past this point here.

Guggenheim

The MoMA. Probably my favorite of the three.MoMA

I”m not sure how I feel about this “modern art” thing?

MoMA Entry

Oh wait, yes I do… and I’m EXCITED!!

MoMA Entry

So is L. She was a fine arts major in college after all.

Friend with Camera MoMA

White Walls.

MoMA

MoMA

MoMA Art

Observing the observers, observing Starry Night. Not going to lie. Some times I like to watch people look at art. It’s almost as good as the paintings themselves. I love the large groups of people gathering around these super famous paintings, simply because they’ve heard of them. They want to say they’ve seen it in person. We find comfort in what we recognize I suppose.

MoMA Van Gogh Starry Night Observers

Don’t worry, I weaseled my way to the front of this group and took a long hard look at Starry Night myself.

MoMA scuptures

Monet.

MoMA Monet

Picture in Picture. Observing observers again. That’s not creepy right?

DSCN0319

In case you can’t read that, it reads “Perfect Door, Perfect Odor, Perfect Rodo”.

MoMA

The MET. Stairway to greatness.MET Stairway

MET Gallery

One of Monet’s Cathedral paintings. Beautiful, though I admit I like the two hanging side by side in the Smithsonian a bit better. Monet Cathedral

MET ceilings MET Sculptures
I’m feeling very arty now. Perhaps I’ll break out my paints tonight… Perhaps.


signature

4 thoughts on “White Walls

  1. Pingback: 27 for 27… a Check In | Shenanigans

Leave a comment